Review of Firefly Airline


I have been travelling a lot for the past 1 year and have had a good chance to see, feel and appreciate or dislike the airline that I travel with. So far, I can say that I am quite fond of Firefly airline when i first travelled with this airline from Singapore to Kuala Terengganu. It is the community airline in Malaysia, her big sister being Malaysia Airlines.

Firefly plane

Firefly plane

The wonderful thing about this budget airline is that the arrival and departure terminal is in Subang Jaya, which is so much nearer and cheaper to get to Kuala Lumpur city compared to LCCT or KLIA. They serve you light refreshments and a cupcake while on board compared to other budget airline.

Here I compile below the reviews from Skytrak (http://www.airlinequality.com/Forum/firefly.htm) by other passengers of Firefly airlines.

As you can read below, most of the comments are pretty positive. It is the little touch that matters. This airline flies to a few destinations namely Kuala Terengganu, Subang (Kuala Lumpur), Koh Samui, Medan, Penang, Singapore, Batam, Johor Bahru, Singapore and so on. This airline however does not ply East Malaysia. They fly to West Malaysia and other neighbouring Asean region. Go on, give the airline a try and you may also want to check out the hotel or holiday deals. They are a real bargain too!!

I am sure you will not be disappointed. (www.fireflyz.com.my)

FIREFLY customer review :  28 April 2010 by Mark Wadham

Customer Rating : 5/5

5 Star Rating

Extremely clean, punctual, excellent value for money airline. I wish they flew in Europe.

FIREFLY customer review :  27 April 2010 by N Werner

Customer Rating : 4/5

4 Star Rating

Penang to Subang (KL) and back to Penang. Flight was around 20 MYR (5USD) more expensive than MAS or Air Asia, however since Subang is so much closer to the city, I felt it was well worth it. Subang airport has been refurbished and is very modern, in comparison to my first visit when FireFly was founded. New ATR 72-500 are also much nicer planes to fly than the old Fokker 50. Check-in was efficient and flights were slightly late boarding but made up time in the air and arrived on time. The crew was friendly and efficient, however not as welcoming as the MH crew. (FireFly is a subsidiary of MH). They served fruit juice and a small piece of cake for this 35min trip. Not bad and good value for money.

FIREFLY customer review :  30 March 2010 by Quek Keng Guan

Customer Rating : 5/5

5 Star Rating

SIN-KUA-SIN with family + 1 child + 1 infant. Infant seat belts were offered unlike Tiger and Air Asia. ATR72-500 were new (capacity 72 pax). Drinks (OJ or apple juice), peanuts and muffins served with 2 FAs. Drinks were done 2 rounds in the 1 hr flight. FAs were friendly and customer service orientated. Air sick bags and inflight mag were avail in each seat. Flight to Kuantan about 98% full while flight to Singapore was about 90% full. Seats were arranged 2×2. There was 1 toilet available. We paid for S$70 for the promotion return airfares! Overall, we enjoyed the flights and will not hesitate to fly with them again.

FIREFLY customer review :  7 February 2010 by R Liddle

Customer Rating : 5/5

5 Star Rating

Penang-Langkawi. New and clean ATR, friendly FAs, cold drink free service, air fare including taxes about £10 each, would thoroughly recommend this airline.

FIREFLY customer review :  16 July 2009 : by E Tan

Customer Rating : 5/5

5 Star Rating

Singapore to Kuala Lumpur Subang. Took several round trip flights between Singapore – Budget Terminal and Kuala Lumpur – Subang in July. On time flights, new aircraft. Low fares with no extra charges for seating, checked baggage or refreshments, unlike on budget airlines. In particular, departing and arriving at Kuala Lumpur Subang is very quick and much closer to Petaling Jaya and downtown Kuala Lumpur. Only quibbles are that the ATR72 can be bumpy in turbulent weather and that the food (muffin) & drink (juice) onboard are uninspiring. Try to get a seat at the rear of the aircraft as ATR72s only have one door, at the rear.

FIREFLY customer review :  15 July 2009 : by J Chin

Customer Rating : 1/5

1 Star Rating

I had the worst experience flying Firefly. Flew to Koh Samui on 8th July with my family for a five day vacation. Was suppose to leave on Sunday (12th July) at 1100 hrs. Flight was delayed to 1530 hours due to bad weather. Was informed later that there was a further delay. My husband called up the Firefly customer service and was informed that the flight was cancelled. Imagine, we were all still sitting at the departure hall at 5.00 p.m. and there was no announcement that the flight was cancelled. We were all fuming mad and finally we told the airport officials to check with KL office. They finally called and confirmed that the flight was cancelled and we were told to return the next day. I am truly disappointed with the service. To top it all, our ordeal was not over yet, the next day, we were informed that our flight would be at 6.00p.m instead of 11.20 a.m. as we have not “checked out” yet. We did not understand what the Thai officers were trying to tell us. Wasn’t all this technical arrangement suppose to be done automatically for the passengers? We had to wait for another two hours before we finally got our seats! Talk about providing great service!

FIREFLY customer review :  12 May 2009 : by Mohd Rosli

Customer Rating : 4/5

4 Star Rating

Kerteh – Subang, evening flight departed on time and arrived roughly 5 minutes earlier than expected. Ground service efficient. Check in and boarding without hassle. Plane interior very clean. FAs friendly and service fairly good. Light snacks (biscuits) and drink served promptly after departure. In-flight announcement was a bit hard to understand especially the one made in English, seemed like FA in a hurry. Other than that, nothing to complain about. For the price they are offering, will use them again

FIREFLY customer review :  20 April 2009 : by Kuhan Kandiah

Customer Rating : 5/5

5 Star Rating

I have just returned from a trip to Alor star (AOR) from subang (SZB) and it was a very pleasant flight with FY. Flights took off on time and the crew were friendly and genuine. Overall, excellent trip with FY. I wish they flew into KUL as well for easier connections to other points.

FIREFLY customer review :  11 March 2009 : by S Robertson

Customer Rating : 3/5

3 Star Rating

Kuala Lumpur to Pekanbaru, Indonesia, about a one-hour flight. Our plane was scheduled to depart at noon but we arrived to find that the flight had been delayed until 2:30 as one of their airplanes had technical problems and was removed from their fleet of 5 planes. Although we had supplied contact information and they acknowledged that they should have called us to let us know about the delay we received no information. When we did board, the flight was nerve-wracking due to turbulence most of the way.

FIREFLY review :  16 February 2009 : by N Bailey

Customer Rating : 5/5

5 Star Rating

Langkawi to Penang. Bargain price of £24 for 2 pax one way. Excellent service took of on time and landed 5 minutes early. (flight time was only 25 mins) check in was simple and no hassle about baggage allowance (we were a tad over but they didn’t charge us) Plane looked brand new, leather seats very comfortable. Would use again and they can teach some of the British budget airlines a thing or two!

FIREFLY customer review :  16 February 2009 : by Stefan Drenkelfuss

Customer Rating : 5/5

5 Star Rating

Penang-Langkawi on ATR, Flight was on time, crew worked excellent together and the flight attendants were cheerfully serving orange juice and water during this 20 minute flight. A very good experience.

FIREFLY customer  review :  6 November 2008 : by Tom Murray

Customer Rating : 45/5

4 Star Rating

Koh Samui – Penang, one way (economy, it’s a single class service). Superbly polite staff at check in, fast, efficient and easy. The plane was clean and tidy, seats were very comfortable, seats were only 2 by 2 across. It was only a 2 hour flight but they quickly served up a quick roll and beverage after take off. A superb little local airline, we departed and arrived bang on time. They use propellor – I hope they can extend their network, but the flight was less than 50% occupied.

Firefly review by Matthew Wesson

27 August 2008   Customer Rating : 3 Star Rating

PEN-LGK. A 90 minute delay to a flight of barely 30 mins is not a good start and a load factor of less than 20% doesn’t bode well either. Booked last minute and got a bargain fare which made the trip cost only slightly more than the ferry which takes nearly 3 hours. A BOB trolley service came round once but on such a short flight no-one was interested. I had collected my luggage and was in a taxi less than 5 mins after landing. If there had been no delay this would have been a 5 star journey.

Firefly review by Mohd Hilmi

5 July 2008   Customer Rating : 5 Star Rating

Penang-Subang-Penang. Cabin crew helpful and friendly. Starting last month, FireFly increase its baggage allowance for check-in baggage from 15kg to 20kg.

Firefly review by S Palmer

4 March 2008   Customer Rating : 4 Star Rating

Penang – Langkawi. Quick hop over btw the islands. Price very good thru the net. Be careful if you come from a Malaysia Airlines flight to Firefly as baggage allowance is only 15 Kgs. Cost more for 8 Kgs of baggage than the flight. Buy on Board prices good though didn’t bother due to it being a short flight. Left 15 mins early, landed 30 mins early!

Firefly review by Dan Wilson

25 February 2008   Customer Rating : 5 Star Rating

SZB – Lankawi return and SZB – Penang return. Subang airport is peaceful, quiet, efficient and close to Kuala Lumpur. Check in swift and boarding seamless as seat numbers assigned and the planes are small Fokker 50’s. The flights were very comfortable (former MAS seating, not budget) with friendly flight attendants. Proper assignation of seat numbers makes such a difference compared to the shambolic scrum at LCC terminal. I hope they expand and operate many more routes from SZB.

  • Share/Save/Bookmark